8 CST Schools To Be Transferred Next Month, 158 Staffs Will be Recruited

According to the press briefing from Central Tibetan Administration President Dr. Lobsang Sangay’s press briefing today, eight more CST schools will be transferred from CTSA under government of India to STSS under CTA. This is the third phase of the ongoing transfer of CTSA schools transfer which began since 2013 and it will also lead to recruiting 158 staffs.

“The third phase of transfer of schools from Central Tibetan Schools Administration (CTSA) to Sambhota Tibetan Schools Society (STSS) under the Depart of Education of CTA will include eight schools: three Senior Secondary and five Secondary Schools, the President of the Central Tibetan Administration announced today.” said the report in Phayul.

The eight Central School for Tibetans (CST) scheduled to be transferred next month include Mundgod, Bylakuppe, Dholanji, Kollegal, CVP Bylakuppe, Chandragiri, Gurupura and Sonada.

“The schools in the third phase are mostly situated in Tibetan settlements and more importantly it is for the first time we are taking the custody of Secondary and Senior Secondary Schools,” President Lobsang Sangay said at the press conference on Monday.

This transfer will lead to CTA making a recruitment drive to fill the 158 job vacancies in the eight schools and the last date of submission of application has been set as February 2. The drive will target recruiting 19 PGTs, 55 TGTs, 33 PRTs, 9 PETs, 3 M/D teachers, 8 Librarians, 8 Computer teachers, 7 cultural and spiritual teachers, 8 accountants and 8 office secretaries.

The objectives behind the request for the transfer to administration under the CTA according to President Sangay is to raise the standard of education in Tibetan schools and that the schools managed by Tibetans comparatively yield better results in all India Secondary and Senior Secondary examination than schools under CTSA explained the report.

Till now a total of 47 CTSA schools comprised of 33 pre-primary schools, 9 primary schools and 5 middle schools having been transferred to the Sambhota Tibetan Schools administered by the Department of Education, Central Tibetan Administration, Dharamshala and doing well. The remaining 14 CTSA schools have been promised to be transferred by March 2018 according a response from former Kalon of Department of Education in September last year.

Share this on

TJ editor

Editor at Tibetan Journal

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *